Thursday, September 17, 2009

Virginia Butts Sturm Creative Writing Award

English majors who are currently pursuing the Creative Writing Concentration and have completed or are completing at least nine credit hours in the concentration are encouraged to apply for the Virginia Butts Sturm Creative Writing Award.

To apply for the $100 award (in the form of a Barnes and Noble gift certificate), students should submit a writing sample and their name, address, telephone number, and email address to Marsha Bissett, 100 Colson Hall by Friday, October 9, 2009. The writing sample should consist of either 5-10 poems or one work of fiction or creative nonfiction, with a maximum 20 pages.

The recipient of the award will be notified by October 16th. The public announcement of the recipient will be at the evening reading of the 2009 Virginia Butts Sturm Writer in Residence, Janet Peery. That reading is scheduled for Monday, October 19, at 7:30 p.m., in room 202 of Brooks Hall.

Although any West Virginia University student, regardless of major, can pursue a Creative Writing Concentration, this scholarship may only be awarded to a student majoring in English as stipulated by the benefactors. Past recipients include Kelly Sundberg (2008-09); Marit Ericson (2007-08); Nick Gaudio (2006-07); Sarah Whitney Holmes (2005-06); Aaron Flanagan (2004-05); Tricia Almase (2003-04); Abigail Aikens (2002-03); Natalie Sypolt (2001-02); Jessica Harriman (2000-01); Ann Marie Lavorata (1999-2000); Nicole Sheets (1998-99); Scott Matthews (1997-98); Adriane Schramm (1996-97); Ruth Ann Schmitt (1995-96); and Michael Thobois (1994-95).

The Creative Writing Program would like to acknowledge the generosity of the WVU Book Store in providing the $100 gift certificate to the winner.

For more information, contact Professor Mark Brazaitis, director of Creative Writing, at 304-293-9707 or

No comments:

Post a Comment