Friday, November 16, 2018

Fall 2108 PWE Poster Winners Announced

Despite the hail, 10 Professional Writing & Editing (PWE) capstone students showcased their internship work at the biannual PWE Poster Exhibit yesterday. Judges' and attendees' votes have been tallied, and the winners of the top poster awards are:

First Place: John Bonham, Mountaineer Boys & Girls Club

Second Place:  Adelaide Estep, Weelunk

Third Place:  Michaela Martin, WV Dialect Project

Congratulations to all of the interns on their accomplishments this term, including:

  • Jacob Bernabe, who highlighted the expansive range of work English majors can take on via his experience at the WVU Launch Lab.
  • John Bonham, who promoted Mountaineer Boys & Girls Club events via fliers and social media.
  • Adelaide Estep, whose feature writing and photography are highlighted on Weelunk—Wheeling, West Virginia’s online community hangout.
  • Matthew Kinder, who edited and generated newsletter content for the Association of Transcribers and Speech-to-Text Providers (ATSP).
  • Michaela Martin, who worked to streamline behind-the-scenes processes of staff at the WV Dialect Project.
  • Jillian Molnar, who used analytics to post perfectly timed Tweets and Instagram posts for The Tea Shoppe.
  • Alexandra Nagy, who took us through the process of summarizing depositions and developing statements of fact to finally create a motion of summary judgement at Allan N. Karlin & Associates.
  • Pamela Nestor, who supported student scholarship and grant-getting through her work on newsletters for the WVU ASPIRE and Pre-Health Offices.
  • Brandon Ridgely, who demonstrated writing, managing, and marketing skills as a the League of Legends editor at RealSport.
  • Brooklynn Weaver, who worked remotely for Meyer, Ford & Glasser, PLLC performing research, attending depositions, and writing summaries.

Thank you to everyone who supported these talented English majors by attending the poster exhibit and voting for their favorite posters. A special thanks to the events' four judges, as well: Jessica Walker, Kasey Osborne, Laura Brady, and Doug Phillips.

No comments:

Post a Comment