Wednesday, August 21, 2013

Virginia Butts Sturm Creative Writing Scholarship

English majors who are currently pursuing the Creative Writing Concentration and have completed at least three credit hours in the concentration are encouraged to apply for the Virginia Butts Sturm Creative Writing Scholarship. 

 To apply for the $1000 scholarship, students should submit a writing sample and their name, address, telephone number, and email address to Marsha Bissett, 100 Colson Hall by Monday, September 9.  The writing sample should consist of either 5-10 poems or one work of fiction or creative nonfiction, with a maximum 25 pages.

 The recipient of this scholarship will be notified after September 23 and will receive the scholarship in the following spring semester.  The public announcement of the recipient will be at the evening reading of the 2013 Virginia Butts Sturm Writer in Residence, Janisse Ray.  That reading is scheduled for Monday, September 30, at 7:30 p.m. in the Gold Ballroom, WVU Mountainlair. 

 Although any West Virginia University student, regardless of major, can pursue a Creative Writing Concentration, this scholarship may only be awarded to a student majoring in English as stipulated by the benefactors.  Past recipients include Caleb Stacy (2013-14); Emily Isaacs (2012-13); Kimberly Nold (2011-12); Brandy Hoover (2009-10); Kelly Sundberg (2008-09); Marit Ericson (2007-08); Nick Gaudio (2006-07); Sarah Whitney Holmes (2005-06); Aaron Flanagan (2004-05); Tricia Almase (2003-04); Abigail Aikens (2002-03); Natalie Sypolt (2001-02); Jessica Harriman (2000-01); Ann Marie Lavorata (1999-2000); Nicole Sheets (1998-99); Scott Matthews (1997-98); Adriane Schramm (1996-97);  Ruth Ann Schmitt (1995-96); and Michael Thobois (1994-95).

No comments:

Post a Comment